How strict is SVA

Buying from abroad or selling to another country.
Forum rules
cati
Name: Cati
Year Of Mustang: 2015

How strict is SVA

Postby cati » Tue Jul 15, 2008 6:27 pm

I am going to import my car from the US later this year. So far I have an FRPP handling pack, 20 inch rims and FRPP axle backs. Will this give me problems at SVA time?

I have been told that as long as they are ford fit you should be okay? So changing the wheels is no problem, but for the rest do I need to swap out my upgrades or chance it. These are all standard fit on a shelby GT so is this a real concern

all experiences welcome

ozza
Name: Gareth
Year Of Mustang: 1965

Re: How strict is SVA

Postby ozza » Tue Jul 15, 2008 7:19 pm

I have no experience but nothing on your list would cause me SVA concern.

Twin Turbo
Site Admin
Name: Paul - Admin
Year Of Mustang: 2005

Postby Twin Turbo » Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:23 pm

I know bugger all about the SVA but, if anything, I guess the exhaust may cause concern? I know it shouldn't effect emissions, but............ :?

Someone more cleverer than wot I is will be along in a mo. :D

LV51FER
Name: Wayne

Postby LV51FER » Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:58 pm

None of those should cause you any concern bar tyres not being stock. If the car is new and not obviously modified, the chances are they will look at the FMVSS sticker and nod it through. The only issue my mate had with a 12000 mile Z06 was checking the tyre speed ratings for which he had to produce the handbook showing stock tyre fitting and rating. In other words, just fit a W or Z rated tyre and it won't be a problem (some Yank cars have speed limited applications). Incidentally when I submitted my Z06 for SVA, you have to fill in the top speed. I put 176mph and they laughed and said everyone usually puts 100! Most SVA Centres won't know what is stock and what isn't.